Reappointments to the Social Science Research Committee

Last updated:
14 August 2015
Social Science Research Committee (SSRC)
The Food Standards Agency has reappointed the Chair and four expert members to the Social Science Research Committee (SSRC). The SSRC is an independent scientific advisory committee which provides advice to the FSA about how it gathers and uses social science evidence.

Reappointed members

Information about each of the reappointed members can be found below.

Professor Peter Jackson (Chair)

Professor Jackson is a human geographer. From 2004 to 2007, Peter served as Director of Research for the Social Sciences at the University of Sheffield. He has managed a range of research projects funded by the Economic and Social Research Council, Leverhulme Trust and the Nuffield Foundation. Peter is currently directing a research programme on consumer anxieties about food, funded by the European Research Council. His term has been extended until March 2018.

Ms Joy Dobbs

Joy Dobbs has extensive experience in research and analysis working in social science and statistics in Government. Joy has been a senior official at the Office for National Statistics for many years, first specialising in social survey research and more recently leading divisions providing demographic, social and health analysis. She has good links with a wide range of academic institutions, for example the Economic and Social Research Council (particularly the new UK Household Longitudinal Survey) and the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Her term has been extended until March 2016.

Professor Stephen Hinchliffe

Professor Hinchliffe is an environmental geographer and specialist in science and technology issues at the University of Exeter. Most recently Steve has been funded by the ESRC to lead a multidisciplinary research team on biosecurity, investigating food safety issues that result from new and emerging infectious diseases. Steve has also recently been involved with an EU funded project exploring new forms of cooperative public engagement in the governance of agriculture and science. His term has been extended until March 2019.

Professor Lynn Frewer

Professor Lynn Frewer has a PhD in applied Psychology and is Professor of Food and Society at Newcastle University. Lynn has research interests focused on societal and individual responses to risks and benefits associated with food, health, sustainability and safety. Her interests also include (qualitative and quantitative) methodological development and effective stakeholder analysis and public engagement applied to agri-food governance. Lynn has published extensively in these areas. Her research has been funded by EU, national and international funding bodies. Her term has been extended until March 2016.

Professor Richard Tiffin

Professor Tiffin is the Director of the Centre for Food Security at the University of Reading. His background is in agricultural and food econometrics with a focus on multidisciplinary research spanning the boundaries between the social and natural sciences. Despite being a social scientist, he is a member of the BBSRC strategy group. Richards main focus is on quantitative analysis but he has a good understanding of the roles of different types of social science evidence and how these can be used to inform the policy making process. His term has been extended until March 2019.

Further information

More information about the committee can be provided by the SSRC secretariat:

SSRC Secretariat
1C Aviation House
125 Kingsway
London WC2B 6NH
tel: 020 7276 8743